Our Staff


Melissa Burman
Three years as Executive Director

Melissa became A Brighter Community, Inc.’s Executive Director as of October 2013. This is a position that she performs voluntarily. Melissa provides leadership and oversight for ABC’s Program Director, keeps up with all compliance and regulations for licensing, manages finances with a focus on ABC’s future fiscal viability, and finds and creates new partnerships within the Tampa Bay area. Melissa also works with the Board to develop and maintain ABC’s mission and vision as well as raise funds for future projects.
Melissa earned her Master in Business Administration in 2003 from the University of Tampa’s John Sykes College of Business. She earned her undergraduate degree in 1994 from Capital University in Columbus, OH.


Juanita McClinton-Lee
Three years as Director

Juanita became A Brighter Community, Inc.’s Director as of October 2013.  Juanita is responsible for high quality education and curriculum that our students receive as well as the day to day operations of the school.

Juanita is in the process of finishing her Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Education.  She graduated from the University of Tampa in 2006 with a Bachelor of Science. 


Teaching Staff

At a Brighter Community our staff is more than just employees, they are family.  It is their dedication and love for our mission that makes us great.  Fifty percent of our current staff members have been with our organization more than five years.
We HONOR and LOVE each of our staff members.

Fran Bruton – 30 years of dedication
Lula Lane – 24 years of dedication
Michelle Pope – 15 years of dedication
Maxine Carter – 15 years of dedication
Carol Jenkins – 3 years of dedication
La’Rosa White – 2 year of dedication
Veronica Harris – 2 years of dedication
Belinda Harris - 1 year of dedication

Thanks to an annual grant from The Talcott Family Foundation, A Brighter Community is able to have Foster Grandparents in our classrooms daily.

Alberta Dowdell – 17 years of dedication as a foster grandparent and our 2016 Volunteer of The Year!